Interpreting the Four Gospels

The unit Interpreting the Four Gospels builds upon the knowledge and skills learned in the pre-requisite biblical studies. It critically examines the historical context, structure, literary forms and theological content of the four gospels of the New Testament as well as their application to Christian worship, teaching and spirituality. As an Advanced Elective unit, this unit builds on critical skills formed in pre-requisite study and forms a part of a Specialisation in the Discipline of Biblical Studies in the postgraduate awards.


Study Level



Biblical Studies

Credit Points



9 credit points of Level 8100 B units



Learning Outcomes

At the end of this unit students will be able to:

  1. Analyse the impact that the historical, socio-cultural and religious background of the New Testament period had on the development of each of the four gospels
  2. Analyse and interpret the principal literary forms and theological themes of the four gospels of the New Testament
  3. Exegete selected passages from the four gospels using an accepted methodology
  4. Integrate secondary recent scholarship into the critical study and interpretation of the four gospels
  5. Apply insights gained from the critical study of the four gospels to contemporary Christian preaching, teaching and spirituality.
Find a Course
Back to top