Research

Research Supervisors

Supervisors play an integral role in ensuring that a research degree students’ work meets the standards of the Sydney College of Divinity and the academic discipline. Supervisors provide consistent and reasonable support to help students at every stage, from formulation of their research projects through establishing methodologies and discussing results, to presentation and possible publication of dissertations.

Students are advised to find a supervisor who will complement their research and learning style. This will help to ensure the success of this relationship as it is one of the important factors contributing to the successful completion of the degree.


List of supervisors

Biblical Studies

Professor Peter Bolt
Academic Director
Office of the Dean

peterb@scd.edu.au

Associate Professor Michele Connolly
Lecturer & Biblical Studies Discipline Coordinator
Catholic Institute of Sydney

cisinfo@cis.catholic.edu.au

Associate Professor Daniel Fanous
Dean and Lecturer in Theology & Biblical Studies
St Cyril's Coptic Orthodox Theological College

dfanous@stcyrils.edu.au

Dr Rob Fringer
Principal & Lecturer in Biblical Studies and Biblical Language
Nazarene Theological College

rfringer@ntc.edu.au

Dr Lydia Gore-Jones
Lecturer in Biblical Studies
St Andrew's Greek Orthodox Theological College

grs@scd.edu.au

Professor James Harrison
Professor of Biblical Studies & Research Director
Office of the Dean

jimh@scd.edu.au

Dr Honam Kim
Dean of Studies
Korean School of Theology

deanK@scd.edu.au

Dr Sehyun Kim
MTh Director
Korean School of Theology

sehyunk@scd.edu.au

Associate Professor Peter Laughlin
Dean of the Alliance Institute for Mission and Academic Dean
Australian College of Ministries

plaughlin@acom.edu.au

Associate Professor Dennis Nutt
Lecturer
Australian College of Ministries

grs@scd.edu.au

Dr André van Oudtshoorn
Acting Principal, Academic Dean & Lecturer, Perth Bible College
Australian College of Christian Studies

college@pbc.wa.edu.au

Dr Debra Snoddy
Lecturer in Biblical Studies
Catholic Institute of Sydney

cisinfo@cis.catholic.edu.au

Dr Linda Stargel
Academic Dean & Lecturer in Biblical Studies
Nazarene Theological College

lindas@ntc.edu.au

Dr Robert Tilley
Lecturer in Biblical Studies
Catholic Institute of Sydney

cisinfo@cis.catholic.edu.au

Christian Spirituality

Associate Professor Matthew Del Nevo
Lecturer in Philosophy
Catholic Institute of Sydney

cisinfo@cis.catholic.edu.au

Church History

Dr Robert Andrews
Lecturer
Catholic Institute of Sydney

cisinfo@cis.catholic.edu.au

Associate Professor Dennis Nutt
Lecturer
Australian College of Ministries

grs@scd.edu.au

Humanities in the Christian Tradition

Professor Diane Speed
Dean and CEO
Office of the Dean

dianes@scd.edu.au

Mission

Professor Darren Cronshaw
Head of Research & Professor of Missional Leadership
Australian College of Ministries

dcronshaw@acom.edu.au

Pastoral Theology

Dr Bruce Allder
Senior Lecturer
Nazarene Theological College

ballder@ntc.edu.au

Dr John Collins
Lecturer & Christian Life and Ministry Discipline Coordinator
Catholic Institute of Sydney

cisinfo@cis.catholic.edu.au

Professor Darren Cronshaw
Head of Research & Professor of Missional Leadership
Australian College of Ministries

dcronshaw@acom.edu.au

Dr André van Oudtshoorn
Acting Principal, Academic Dean & Lecturer, Perth Bible College
Australian College of Christian Studies

college@pbc.wa.edu.au

Dr Stephen Parker
Academic Coursework Manager
Australian College of Ministries

sparker@acom.edu.au

Associate Professor Stephen Smith
Associate Professor of Leadership
Office of the Dean

scd@scd.edu.au

Philosophy

Dr Samuel Kaldas
Director of Research and Lecturer in Philosophy & Theology
St Cyril's Coptic Orthodox Theological College

skaldas@stcyrils.edu.au

Dr Andrew Murray
Lecturer
Catholic Institute of Sydney

cisinfo@cis.catholic.edu.au

Associate Professor Matthew Del Nevo
Lecturer in Philosophy
Catholic Institute of Sydney

cisinfo@cis.catholic.edu.au

Dr John Owens
Lecturer in Philosophy, Good Shepherd College
Catholic Institute of Sydney

owens@gsc.ac.nz

Dr Dean Smith
Director of Learning and Teaching & Senior Lecturer in Theology and Philosophy
Nazarene Theological College

dsmith@ntc.edu.au

Theology

Associate Professor Doru Costache
Senior Lecturer in Theology (Patristic Studies)
St Cyril's Coptic Orthodox Theological College

dcostache@stcyrils.edu.au

Dr Rohan Curnow
Deputy President
Catholic Institute of Sydney

cisinfo@cis.catholic.edu.au

Dr Mervyn Duffy
Lecturer in Theology & Acting Principal of Good Shepherd College
Catholic Institute of Sydney

duffy@gsc.ac.nz

Associate Professor Philip Kariatlis
Academic Director & Senior Lecturer in Theology
St Andrew's Greek Orthodox Theological College

registrar@sagotc.edu.au

Professor Gerard Kelly
Lecturer & Theology Discipline Coordinator
Catholic Institute of Sydney

cisinfo@cis.catholic.edu.au

Dr Jin Heung Kim
BTh Director
Korean School of Theology

jink@scd.edu.au

Dr Xavier Lakshmanan
Head of Theology
Australian College of Christian Studies

grs@scd.edu.au

Associate Professor Peter Laughlin
Dean of the Alliance Institute for Mission and Academic Dean
Australian College of Ministries

plaughlin@acom.edu.au

Associate Professor David McEwan
Director of Research
Nazarene Theological College

dmcewan@ntc.edu.au

Dr Peter John McGregor
Lecturer
Catholic Institute of Sydney

cisinfo@cis.catholic.edu.au

Dr Andrew Mellas
Senior Lecturer in Church History and Liturgical Studies
St Andrew's Greek Orthodox Theological College

amellas@sagotc.edu.au

Professor Isabell Naumann
President & Professor Ordinarius, Ecclesiastical Faculty of Theology
Catholic Institute of Sydney

cisinfo@cis.catholic.edu.au

Professor Neil Ormerod
Executive Officer (Research Analytics)
Office of the Dean

neilo@scd.edu.au

Dr Dean Smith
Director of Learning and Teaching & Senior Lecturer in Theology and Philosophy
Nazarene Theological College

dsmith@ntc.edu.au

Worship and Liturgy

Dr Bruce Allder
Senior Lecturer
Nazarene Theological College

ballder@ntc.edu.au

Dr Stephen Parker
Academic Coursework Manager
Australian College of Ministries

sparker@acom.edu.au

Find a Course
Study
Back to top