Memorial grants and medals

Dianne Feeney Memorial

A grant and medal have been established by the Council of the Sydney College of Divinity.  It is to be awarded each year to the candidate of the college who has gained the highest level of achievement in the Bachelor of Theology and who is proceeding to further theological study as a graduate student in the college.

The grant and medal is a memorial to honour the life and work of Dianne Feeney, who was a member of the teaching faculty in the Churches of Christ in NSW Theological College as an anthropologist and missiologist. She played a constructive part in the development of the Sydney College of Divinity until her tragic death in New Guinea on 28 November 1985.  The award will be paid from a fund that was set up in 1987 with donations from some of her colleagues and from Teaching Bodies of the Sydney College of Divinity.


1998 Joan Frances Wilcox
1999 Peter Trafford Walker
2000 Anastasios Kalogerakis
2001 John Ian Walker
2002 Laurel Ruth Barr
2003 Christine Maree Senini
2004 Peter Lewis Hobson
2005 not awarded
2006 Grace Tsoi
2007 Kathleen Faith Tennikoff
2008 not awarded
2009 Mario Baghos
2010 not awarded
2011 Vernon Ru Wen Chua
2012 Efstratios Makris
2013 not awarded
2014 Stefan Mastilovic
2015 not awarded
2016 Phillip Mark Gummerson
2017 Wai Keet Hew
2018 Margaret Mary Keyes
2019 not awarded
Beth Blackall Memorial

Council in April 1997 established a fund from which a grant and medal would be awarded to the student presenting a thesis of excellence which was also the best at the graduate level that year.

The Prize marks the contribution to the Sydney College of Divinity made by Dr Bettina (Beth) Blackall who died on 7 June 1996.  Dr Blackall’s understanding of the processes of higher education was invaluable when advising on the development of an appropriate infrastructure for the Sydney College of Divinity.  Her involvement with all of our Member Institutions and her sensitivity to their histories, their traditions, and their confessional stances, reflected her ecumenical approach to theological education.

The award is a mark of excellence and is not always granted in a given year.


1998 Jennifer Anne Herrick
1999 Peter Francis Madden
2002 Shane Jack Clifton
2003 Joseph Dominic Vnuk
2004 John Anthony Rees
2006 Geoffrey Joseph Abdallah
2007 Richard Bowen Ferret
2008 not awarded
2009 Margaret Ghosn
2010 Mario Baghos / Julien Ogereau
2011 not awarded
2012 not awarded
2013 not awarded
2014 not awarded
2015 not awarded
2016 Loan Thi Le
2017 not awarded
2018 not awarded
2019 not awarded
2020 not awarded
Brian Murray Memorial

Through a generous donation received from the Marist Fathers a fund was established from which a grant and a medal would be awarded annually to the student with the highest level of achievement in the discipline of Theology who is graduating BTh.

The Prize marks the contribution of the Rev Dr Brian Murray SM to theological education generally and to the Sydney College of Divinity in particular.  Dr Murray was principal and lecturer at the Catholic Theological Union from 1975 until the end of 1982.  During that time he played a significant role in the establishment of the Sydney College of Divinity (being a member of the initial working party) and was involved in the early submissions to the Higher Education Board.  He later served as Superior to the Marist Fathers’ General House in Rome, as Vicar Provincial for the Australian Province, and in parish ministry in Brisbane until his death on 8 September 1994.


1999  James Leo Pius Maher
2000  Mary Elspeth Pearson
2001  Jonathan Alexander Humphries
2002  Brett Douglas Furner
2003  Polidoros Nidras
2004  Peter Lewis Hobson
2005  Vincent Battaglia
2006  Grace Tsoi
2007  Kathleen Faith Tennikoff
2008  Cameron Ross Surrey
2009  Mario Baghos
2010  Thomas McFadden
2011  Duane Harold Stephen Fernandez
2012  James Francis Matthew McQueen Foster
2013  Mark Henry Woloszyn
2014  Peter James Strohmayer
2014  Dominic Pham Hong An Nguyen
2014  Stefan Mastilovic
2015  Mark Williams
2016  John Kar Lun Luey
2017  Wai Keet Hew
2018  Margaret Mary Keyes
2019  Joseph Patrick Murphy
2020  Noel Patrick Custodio
Award from the Council of Christians and Jews

This award is granted to the student who has shown excellence in biblical Hebrew.


1998  Stavros Karvelas
1999  Stavros Fotineas
2000  Stuart Elliott
2001  Jacqueline Nancye Grey
2002  Eric John Snowball
2003  Elyse Williams
2004  (shared) Maria Shankland
2004  (shared) Joshua Dowton
2005  Rene Van Den Tol
2006  Constantine Osuchukwu
2007  Anne Liu
2008  Frances Therese Drum
2009  Narelle Melton
2010  not awarded
2011  not awarded
2012  Norvin Dias
2013  Anthony Michael Kottaridis
2014  Dominic Pham Hong An Nguyen
2015  Simon Skidmore
2016  Jeremy Alexander Kean
2017  Elizabeth Geneivieve Worley
2018  Matthew Dimian
2019  Michael John Jaksic
2020  not awarded
Sydney College of Divinity Centre for Gospels and Acts Research Essay Award

The SCD Centre for Gospels Research Essay Prize will be awarded for

  • an excellent essay on a Gospels or Acts topic;
  • submitted as an assessment item towards any SCD Course in the calendar year of the award; and
  • receiving a Distinction or High Distinction.

The Prize will be presented at the SCD Graduation Ceremony and the recipient of the Prize will also be invited to present a version of the essay in a forum of the SCD Centre for Gospels and Acts Research


2017  Jason Israel
2018  Pamela Susan Reed
2019  Anna Vagias
2020  James Arblaster




Find a Course
Back to top