Organisation and Governance


The Council is established by the Sydney College of Divinity Ltd to have responsibility for and exercise oversight of the entire SCD operation, including direct control of membership, legal and financial matters, and risk management, and management of the Office of the Dean, the Korean School of Theology, and the Graduate Research School, and, by delegation to the Academic Board, oversight of all academic policy matters and permissions to graduate.

The Council is led by its Chair, who is also the President of the College. The Constitution provides for membership of up to five employees from Member Institutions, one student, and the Chair of Academic Board ex officio, but Council membership is not ‘representative’ and there is always a majority of external members, several of whom meet the TEQSA definition of ‘independent member’.

The Council members as of October 2021 are 

Mr Peter King President; Chair of Council
Prof Gerard Kelly Vice-President; Deputy Chair of Council
Prof Stephen Smith SCD Dean and CEO
Ms Rosemary Bradford External member
Mr Neale Meredith Member Institution member
Dr Rob Fringer Member Institution member
Prof Angelo Karantonis Member Institution external nominee
Assoc Prof Philip Kariatlis Member Institution external nominee
Prof Shukri Sanber Tertiary education expertise
Mr Richard Wheeler Financial expertise

The Committees of the Council are :

  • Academic Board
  • Audit Committee
  • Institutional Membership Committee
  • Standing Committee
  • Strategic Planning Committee

Council is held at the Sydney College of Divinity.

Date Time Save to Calendar
Wednesday, 23 March 2022 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Wednesday, 11 May 2022 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Wednesday, 3 August 2022 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Wednesday, 21 September 2022 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Wednesday, 23 November 2022 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm



Find a Course
Back to top