Research Programs

The SCD currently offers four accredited postgraduate research awards, one at masters level and three at doctoral level:

Master of Philosophy*

Doctor of Ministry

Doctor of Philosophy

Doctor of Theology

All research degrees are available either full-time or part-time.

The Doctor of Ministry program currently consists of four coursework units (40%) followed by research and thesis (60%). The other research degree programs proceed by research and thesis alone.

Applications are now in progress for re-accreditation of the research degrees in a lightly revised form to align with the recently released specifications of the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF). Re-accreditation has been sought for four degrees: Master of Philosophy (renaming of the MA (Hons)), Doctor of Ministry, Doctor of Philosophy, Doctor of Theology.

Prospective new students should direct their inquiries to the Director of Research in the Office of the Dean.

Australian citizens and permanent residents are eligible to apply for Fee-Help, a Government loan that covers the fee for the chosen course. Overseas students are asked to pay the tuition fee at the beginning of each semester. The SCD fees are the same for both domestic and overseas students. For current information on fees please see Admission, Enrolment & Fees.

All research degree students are enrolled with the SCD as such, not with an individual Member Institution. Supervisors are appropriately qualified faculty who are usually based in Member Institutions, but they are sometimes external academics based in other theological colleges or universities.

All candidates for SCD research degrees participate in Research Seminars held at evening times. Students living beyond Sydney are asked to attend at least once a year and otherwise to attend some seminars by electronic means. As well as contributing to the development of each person’s research capacity and skills, these seminars allow students who are often carrying out their work alone to experience membership of a community of scholars and make friends with other people in a similar position.


*Please note the Master of Philosophy replaces both the Master of Arts (Hons) and the Master of Theology (Hons).