The Sydney College of Divinity (SCD) has been training theologians and equipping people for ministry for over thirty years. SCD was registered as a company in September 1983 and its first degree, the BTh, was accredited in February 1984 with retrospective validity to the beginning of 1982. The first Graduation was held in 1985, with 41 graduands. By the end of the 2016 Graduation ceremony, SCD had 5304 graduates.

SCD came into existence following the NSW Higher Education Board’s direction to theological institutions that they should rationalise resources and establish a degree-supervision authority administered collectively by the Member Institutions (MIs).

The SCD has embraced an intentionally ecumenical approach, through which the traditions and needs of individual MIs are addressed collegially, on a principle of flexibility within strong, clear frameworks.

The six founding MIs of the SCD consortium were the Baptist Theological College, the Catholic Institute of Sydney, the Churches of Christ in New South Wales Theological College, St Paul’s National Seminary, the Union Theological Institute, and the United Theological College. Institutional membership has changed over the years and extended beyond NSW.

The College was approved by the Commonwealth Government as a Higher Education Provider on 26 November 2004, and granted Self-Accrediting Authority on 22 June 2016.

Undergraduate and postgraduate coursework awards are delivered in English medium through the individual MIs and in Korean medium through the Korean School of Theology, which was founded under collective ownership in 2010. The research degrees are delivered through another collectively owned enterprise, the Graduate Research School. All SCD awards are delivered on the basis of a single shared curriculum and central academic governance structure.